Bourke Street Bakery: Strawberry and Vanilla Brulee Tart and Passionfruit Meringue Tart

I ended up making a visit to Bourke Street Bakery, because my friends on Twitter were regular visitors to the place and always mentioned great things about the food, especially the Strawberry and Vanilla Brulee Tart.

I had absolutely no idea that Bourke Street Bakery had so many branches. I was very excited that one branch was quite close to my where I lived. When I arrived at Bourke Street Bakery, my eyes were immediately drawn to the famous Strawberry and Vanilla Brulee Tart that my friends had mentioned on Twitter. There were only three left, and I was third in line. I was crossing my fingers and toes, hoping that the people before me would not buy the last three tarts. I was getting so anxious, I really wanted one and two were now remaining.

Finally I got served! The Strawberry and Vanilla Brulee Tart was all mine! Success. I decided to buy one Strawberry and Vanilla Brulee Tart, one Passionfruit Meringue Tart and two  sausage rolls. I was so happy that they had the Strawberry and Vanilla Brulee Tart left.

When I got home, I immediately plated up the Strawberry and Vanilla Brulee Tart and Passionfruit Meringue Tart and took my first bite. The Strawberry and Vanilla Brulee Tart was so delicious. The crispy caramelised sugar top was a tad bitter, the brulee filling was so creamy and the strawberry puree filling was divine. The sweet shortcrust pastry casing was to die for. The sweet shortcrust pastry casing was so buttery and flaky. I really loved the Strawberry and Vanilla Brulee Tart.

Next up, was the Passionfruit Meringue Tart. The  Passionfruit Meringue Tart was quite nice, but I was not a real fan of the passionfruit filling, I found the filling to be too sour for my liking. The meringue topping was quite fluffy delicious and yet again, the sweet shortcrust pastry casing was so buttery and flaky.

I would definitely love to go back to Bourke Street Bakery one day to try the other delicious looking sweet goodies in the store. My friend at work has been bugging me to try their Pear and Rhubarb for ages, she said this muffin is the best muffin she has ever eaten.

Looks like a visit to Bourke Street Bakery is on the cards this weekend!

Bourke Street Bakery Locations can be found on their website:

http://bourkestreetbakery.com.au/

Leave a Reply

