Black Star Pastry

In my continued quest to investigate more places to eat dessert and baked goods, I decided to check out Black Star Pastry. I had no idea that this delicious place existed, until my Twitter friend Dex (@kewpielovesyou) tweeted on Twitter about his visit.

Black Star Pastry is a small shop on Australia Street at Newtown. I probably would not have known about the place if I had not read Dex’s Tweet. I really liked Black Star Pastry, the shop had a very rustic feel and  their desserts and baked goods on offer looked delicious.

As usual, I may have gotten slightly carried away and bought more food that I can eat. I ended up buy a Chocolate Eclair, Salted Caramel Panna cotta, Custard Flan, Croissant, Chocolate Croissant, Cinnamon Scroll, and a Chocolate and Hazelnut Torte.  I had to stop myself from buying more.

The Chocolate Eclair was so delicious, I really loved chocolate cream filling. Every part of the Chocolate Eclair was moreish.

The Salted Caramel Panna cotta was a tad too sweet for my liking, but my friend loved it. I found the Salted Caramel part to be strange and I cannot explain it. Such a shame, because I am obsessed with everything Salted Caramel.

The Chocolate and Hazelnut Torte was quite delicious. The torte was deliciously chocolatey. I could not eat much of the torte, I had to share it.

The Custard Flan was the best custard tart that I have ever eaten. The custard part was not too sweet and the pastry was divine, so flakey and buttery. Heavenly.

Both croissants were flakey, buttery and delicious. The Croissant were quite big, I probably could have easily shared it.

The Cinnamon Scroll was undoubtedly the Cinnamon Scroll that I have ever eaten, no wonder why there was only one left. The scroll was flakey and moreish. The cinnamon was not too over powering either.

Out of all the items that I purchased, my favourite item was the Custard Flan. I could have easily eaten two of these, but I had to be behaved, so I shared the Custard Flan with my friend. Actually, I have to confess, I had to share everything. How can one retain a good shape for my wedding in a few weeks.

I definitely would love to visit Black Star Pastry again soon. I really want to try their bread range and of course to try their hot chocolate.

Black Star Pastry is located at:

277 Australia Street, Newtown NSW 2042

Note: Black Star Pastry only accepts cash for purchases

Website:

http://www.blackstarpastry.com.au/

Leave a Reply

