Mississippi Chocolate Mud Cupcakes

I have three confessions to make: Firstly, I am scared of baking chocolate cake and chocolate cupcakes. In many previous attempts, I have always over cooked the cake and in the process I have burnt the cake. Secondly, I have a very bad love and hate relationship with icing, a war that could never be won. I swear icing and I were enemies in a past life, because I could never successfully make good icing. Thirdly, if a cake involves electric mixing of some sort, I give up, because I am too lazy.

After many frustrating attempts with making chocolate cake and icing, I decided that enough is enough and I was going to give up. Then one day when I was bored and was researching cake recipes, I came across this recipe for Mississippi Chocolate Mud Cupcakes. The photo of the cupcakes looked so delicious, and the recipe looked quite simple, that a lazy baker like me could make it. I felt a twinge of excitement and decided to give this recipe a go and cook the cupcakes for some colleagues at work.

Lucky for me, I already had the ingredients ready to go. I still had a lot of baking chocolate in the pantry. The process of making the cupcakes seemed so easy. The first steps involved me putting all these ingredients into a saucepan and mixing them together, so easy. The next step involved pouring the mixture into a bowl and waiting for it to cool down, whilst trying to avoid not dipping my finger into the delicious looking mixture. (very difficult). Once the mixture cooled down, I whisked the rest of the ingredients into the mixture and then put the mixture into muffin cases in the muffin pan. Lastly, I waited 30 stressful minutes for the cupcakes to be ready.

Then voilà, the cupcakes were ready and they smelt amazing! Here are four out of twelve cupcakes.

IMG_5626[1]

I was so impatient and worried that the cupcakes may have not turned out as I planned. I decided not to wait for the cupcakes to cool down, so I cut one open and tasted some. The cupcake looked so moist and dense and it tasted amazing! I was so proud of myself.

IMG_5627[1]

The next step to making these cupcakes, was the one I feared the most. I could feel dread coming over me, I knew that soon it would be time for the icing. I decided to chicken out and not be brave, and decided to make a ganache instead. The ganache ended up being so easy to make, much less effort than making icing. The ganache was so easy to spread and it tasted delicious.

IMG_5630[1]

The cupcakes were all finished and ready to be eaten. I was so excited that I over came my chocolate cake fear.

The cupcakes ended up being very popular with my colleagues at work. The
Mississippi Chocolate Mud Cupcakes mission was a success!

The Mississippi Chocolate Mud Cupcakes recipe can be found here:

http://today.ninemsn.com.au/foodandwine/636162/mississippi-mud-cake

(I used brown sugar instead of caster sugar)

4 thoughts on “Mississippi Chocolate Mud Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

