Home Made Coconut Rice

Whilst growing up, rice was always a compulsory part of dinner. My mother used to cook rice with every single meal, no matter what is was. My mother even cooked rice when we ate sausages for dinner. I have always admired how my mother could cook rice so perfectly, whether she cooked it in a rice cooker or in a pot. I never had the same sort of luck.

When I cook rice, I prefer to cook rice in a rice cooker. I can never cook rice successfully in a pot. I always seem to burn the rice, or the rice tastes gritty and hard. For these reasons, I really love my rice cooker.

One day I discovered a rice recipe on the internet, that looked quite simple. The recipe was for coconut rice. I have always loved coconut rice, but never ever got around to trying to cook it myself. I always found it easier to just go buy the coconut rice from a Thai restaurant.

The coconut rice recipe was so simple, all you needed was coconut milk, water and rice. Too easy.

I started to make the coconut rice and so far it went well. But honestly, how could one fail the process of boiling coconut milk and water.

Next I added the Jasmine rice and nervously watched it boil.

IMG_6416[1]

After the rice, coconut milk and water boiled, I gave the mixture a stir and put the lid on. During the waiting period, I must have lifted the lid off the pot ten times. I was so scared that it would not turn out well.

Twenty minutes later, the rice was cooked. I fluffed the rice with a fork and it was now time to see how it tasted. The coconut rice tasted great and the smell was divine. The coconut rice was cooked perfectly and was not gritty or hard. I was so happy, that I wanted to call my mother to tell her the good news.

IMG_6424[1]

D thought it tasted like the coconut rice that we ate at Sitney Thai in Parramatta.

I was so happy that I succeeded in cooking coconut rice in a pot. I can now cross one cooking goal off my list.

The Coconut Rice Recipe can be located on this website:

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/13201/coconut+rice

2 thoughts on “Home Made Coconut Rice

  1. Tina @ bitemeshowme says:

    I’m too scared to cook rice in a pot too. I wonder if I should give this a go. I love coconut rice. It’s so fragrant!

Leave a Reply

