Chocolate and Sour Cream Cupcakes

Usually when someone is bored, they may occupy themselves by watching a movie, reading a book or going for a run. When I am bored, I bake. I will even bake something when I am tired after work. I just love baking.

This week, I have been going crazy changing my favourite recipes. There were a few failures and definitely a huge mess in the kitchen. (a mess which my Husband thankfully cleaned up for me).

One cake recipe that was successful was Chocolate and Sour Cream Cupcakes. I got the idea to make these cupcakes from searching random recipes on the internet. I was not too happy with some of the Chocolate and Sour Cream Cupcake recipes, so I decided to use my Twitter friend @thesuzchef’s existing Coconut and Sour Cream Cake recipe and change the recipe  to suit myself.

The recipe was so simple, I replaced the coconut and added 1/4 cup of cocoa instead. I also made the cake into cupcakes.

The cupcakes smelt so delicious when they came out of the oven. The next step was to conquer my enemy, the icing!

IMG_6772[1]

For the icing, I decided it was time to confront my laziness and finally use a mixer. For the first time in almost a year, I used my Kenwood Tri-Blade mixer to make the icing. It was actually a lot easier to use than I had imagined. The first one was cream cheese icing, which worked really well and tasted great. The second one I made was vanilla buttercream icing. I found the buttercream icing to be too sweet. I also realised that I still need to improve on my icing skills. Icing and I are clearly still not friends.

IMG_6773[1] IMG_6693[1]

Overall I thought that the Chocolate and Sour Cream Cupcakes were a delicious and lighter alternative to the Mississippi Chocolate Mud Cupcakes. The cupcake texture was fluffy, moist and soft. I was really happy with how they tasted and so were my “guinea pigs” who tried the cupcakes.

IMG_6775[1]

The Suzchef’s coconut and sour cream recipe can be found on her blog:

http://thesuzchef.blogspot.com.au

The Cream Cheese Icing can be found on this website:

http://www.bestrecipes.com.au/recipe/cream-cheese-icing-L9478.html

The Buttercream icing recipe can be found on this website:

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/21468/butter+cream+icing

One thought on “Chocolate and Sour Cream Cupcakes

  1. Tina @ bitemeshowme says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever made a cupcake with sour cream before but the cross section of your cupcake looks so moist. I think I always try to find recipes with ingredients I already have at home. I’m a simple kinda girl :p they do look lovely. Those tops! So uniform! And icing takes time and effort. I don’t mind it being spread on top to be honest because sometimes piping means there’s too much!

Leave a Reply

