Apple Crumble Pie Zonuts from Adriano Zumbo Pâtissier

When I heard that Adriano Zumbo was going to make his own version of Dominique Ansel’s croissant-doughnut ” Cronut”, I was very excited. Then when I found out that he was going to release them on Friday, which was my day off, I thought it was fate.

Adriano Zumbo’s version of the croissant-doughnut is called  “Zonut”, keeping with the existing Z theme. The Zonut comes in a variety of flavours, that may change weekly. The first Zonut that was released was the Apple Crumble Pie Zonut.

The Zonut is essentially a croissant-doughnut in one. The concept of this combination is simply genius.

On Friday, I left home really early in the morning, so I could go buy my Zonut and hopefully not line up. I had imagined that there would be this crazy frenzy and extremely long queues. When I arrived, there was no queue, in fact there were only three customers in store.

I immediately made my way to the counter and my eyes were drawn to the delicious looking Zonuts that were sitting on top of the counter. The Zonuts looked flaky and golden brown, I was literally drooling.

IMG_7855

 

IMG_7856

When it was my time to be served, I ended up having a conversation to the guy working there about the Zonuts. He told me that they had already sold three trays of the Zonuts. He also told me that the Zonuts tasted amazing.

I decided to buy only four Zonuts. I also decided to buy some Zumbarons as well.

When I turned to have a look at the store whilst the guy working there was boxing my Zonuts, I spotted Adriano Zumbo. I was so thrilled that I decided to say hello to him and have a chat. Adriano said he is very excited about the Zonuts. He said he plans to change the flavours weekly. I found Adriano Zumbo to be quite a nice person and easy going too.

IMG_7857

For some strange reason, I did not feel like eating the Zonut when I left the shop. I actually did not eat the Zonut until I got home late in the afternoon.

The Zonut was very delicious, the taste reminded me of those sugar egg puffs that you get at yum cha. The Zonut was essentially layers and layers of goodness that melts in your mouth. On the top of the Zonut is icing and apple crumble pie topping and on the bottom is the apple pie cream.

IMG_7865[1]

Of course the Zonut is not something you would eat on a regular basis, but it is still good for a occasional treat.

I think I am officially obsessed.

Zonuts are available from Adriano Zumbo Pâtissier’s Rozelle shop:

114 Terry Street, Rozelle NSW 2039

 

 

5 thoughts on “Apple Crumble Pie Zonuts from Adriano Zumbo Pâtissier

  1. Tina @ bitemeshowme says:

    I definitely want to try this but I’ve heard mixed reviews. I don’t think I’m in any rush to try it though.. and plus, rozelle is a bit of a trek for me anyways. I might wait until it hits the star

Leave a Reply

