Melbourne’s Sweet Treats

For my Husband and I’s one year wedding anniversary, we decided to visit Melbourne for a few days. I was so super excited to eat my through all the great dessert places that Melbourne has to offer, unfortunately we were only there for a few days.

Here a few of my favourite places that I discovered whilst in Melbourne:

Cupcake Central

I was very excited to hear about Cupcake Central’s awesome cupcakes from my Twitter friends. I was advised that I must try their Red Velvet Cupcake, and of course this is exactly what I did.

I was quite impressed with the look of the shop. All the cupcakes looked so delicious in the display cabinets, that I could’ve eaten them all. Alas, I decided that I must try one cupcake first. I ended up buying one Red Velvet Cupcake and one Salted Caramel Cupcake for my friend.

IMG_7524[1]

The Red Velvet Cupcake was so delicious. The cupcake part was so super moist and the cream cheese frosting was so creamy. I was really super impressed. My friend said she loved the Salted Caramel Cupcake too.

Visit Cupcake Central’s website for store locations and baking schedule: http://www.cupcakecentral.com.au/

Brunetti

After a really bad dinner experience in Chinatown, my husband and I were really craving something sweet. I suggested we try Brunetti, because I have heard so many great things about this place. Unfortunately when we got there, it was quite late and there were not many cakes left. Nevertheless, I managed to choose two types of cake. I ended up choosing the New York Baked Cheesecake and the Nutella and Ricotta Cake.

IMG_7533[1]

The New York Baked Cheesecake was really delicious. I loved the fact that the New York Baked Cheesecake was slightly dense and creamy and did not taste like gelatine.

The Nutella and Ricotta Cake was really nice too, the ricotta cheesecake was smooth and creamy and the Nutella gave the cake a delicious hazelnut hit. I just wish I had a bigger slice!

Visit Brunetti’s website for store locations: http://www.brunetti.com.au/

Koko Black

Koko Black was probably my first sweet love when I first visited Melbourne. To this day, I still love Koko Black and try to visit their salons every time I visit Melbourne.

Usually when I visit Koko Black, I always order the Belgian Chocolate Mousse and the Hot Chocolate. This time when I visited Koko Black, I decided to be different. This time I decided to order the Caramel Delice and of course the Hot Chocolate.

IMG_7553[1]

IMG_7554[1]

The Caramel Delice was amazing, I swear it literally melted in my mouth. The Caramel Delice is basically caramel chocolate mousse cake with a biscuit base. I actually ended up liking the Caramel Delice more than the Belgian Chocolate Mousse, because it was not as sweet.

The Hot Chocolate was delicious as always, so chocolatey,  but is no longer my favourite Hot Chocolate in Melbourne.

Visit Koko Black’s website for salon locations: http://www.kokoblack.com/

Cumulus Inc.

Cumulus Inc. is the cafe in Melbourne that makes the best Hot Chocolate I have ever drunk.

My Husband and I decided to visit Cumulus Inc. for the purpose of ordering drinks only. We were not in the mood to eat. I decided to order the usual Hot Chocolate.

IMG_7472[1]

 

The Hot Chocolate from Cumulus Inc. was as usual, absolutely divine. The Hot Chocolate was so creamy, frothy and chocolatey. The only fault of the Hot Chocolate, was that the cup it was served in was too small, and for this reason I drank two cups.

Whilst at Cumulus Inc., I received a comment on Instagram from my friends from Twitter. They suggested that I order the Lemon Curd Madeleine. I took their advice and ordered one. The Lemon Curd Madeleines are freshly baked and usually take 15 minutes to bake.

So 25 minutes later and attitude from staff member, I received my Lemon Curd Madeleine.

IMG_7475[1]

The Lemon Curd Madeleine was so delicious, even more so because it was fresh out of the oven and it was still warm. The Lemon Curd Madeleine was so soft and fluffy and the oozing lemon curd filling was slightly tangy.

Visit Cumulus Inc.’s website cafe location and further details: http://cumulusinc.com.au/

 

 

La Belle Miette

A visit to La Belle Miette to buy their delicious macarons, was definitely high on my sweet eating agenda. I must confess, I visited this place three times when we were in Melbourne.

I absolutely love their macarons. I love their range of flavours, my favourite ones are the Mango and Coconut, Caramel a la Fleur de Sel and Strawberry and Vanilla.

IMG_7545[1]

IMG_7511[1]

 

La Belle Miette’s macarons are so well made and the flavours are amazing. The macarons shells are so perfectly soft and chewy and the macaron fillings are so creamy. Together, these make a match made in heaven.

Visit La Belle Miette’s website for store locations: http://labellemiette.com.au

 

There are so many other great sweet places to discover in Melbourne, but we ran out of time.  Overall, I really loved my sweet eating experiences in Melbourne. I cannot wait to come back again soon.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Melbourne’s Sweet Treats

  1. Tina @ bitemeshowme says:

    I felt that way when I went to melbourne. so many places to try, so little time! glad I ticked a whole bunch off my to go list though 🙂

Leave a Reply

