Green Tea Cupcakes with Green Tea Buttercream Icing

When I feel stressed after a long day at work, I bake. I love baking and find it so relaxing. The only problem is the mess afterwards. Times like this I wish I could wiggle my nose and the mess would instantly disappear. Last week as part of my baking therapy, I decided to experiment with Green Tea Matcha Powder.

I originally started using Green Tea Matcha Powder just to add to Vanilla ice cream. My friend said it was a good way for us lazy people to make Green Tea ice cream. This time I thought I would use the Green Tea Matcha Powder to make cupcakes. To be honest, I had no idea how much powder to add. After two attempts, I finally got the consistency right.

To start off the recipe, I used my good old faithful base recipe and then added the Green Tea Matcha Powder. It was actually quite easy to make. I did Google other recipes, but I found them to be too complex. When it comes to baking I like to keep it simple.

For the icing I used my base recipe and then added Green Tea Matcha Powder until I felt the consistency was correct.

The Green Tea Cupcakes ended up tasting really delicious. They were very fluffy and moist inside and I think the reason for this is the baking at low temperatures and the use of my favourite baking ingredient, Buttermilk. I really loved how the Green Tea Buttercream Icing balanced out the flavours and tasted milky and smooth.

The Green Tea Cupcakes were a real hit at work. I received so much praise from my “work food critics” ,which made me feel so happy.

 

IMG_8275[1]

 

I think this new recipe Green Tea Cupcakes with Green Tea Buttercream Icing is my new favourite cupcake recipe to bake.

Green Tea Cupcakes with Green Tea Buttercream Icing Recipe

  • 100gms of Butter
    3/4 cup of Caster Sugar
    1 and 3/4 cups of Sifted Self Raising Flour
    1/2 Teaspoon of Vanilla Essence
    1 Egg
    1 cup of Buttermilk
    2 Tablespoons of Green Tea Matcha Powder. (you can add more for a richer taste)
    Method:

    Preheat fan forced oven to 150 degrees Celsius
    Melt Butter in the microwave for 35 seconds.
    Add Caster Sugar and mix the ingredients thoroughly together with a wooden spoon.
    Add Vanilla Essence and Egg and mix the ingredients together.
    Add sifted Self Raising Flour, Buttermilk and 2 Tablespoons of Green Tea Matcha Powder.
    Mix combined ingredients together.
    Put ¾ of the mixture into cupcake cases
    Bake cupcakes for 15-20 minutes at 150 degrees Celsius.
    Icing:

    125gms Butter (a room temperature or melted in the microwave for 30 seconds)
    1 and 1/2 cups of sifted Icing Sugar Mixture
    1  tbs of Milk (depending on how smooth you want the icing to be)
    1-2 tbs of Green Tea Matcha Powder
    Mix the Butter and sifted Icing Sugar mixture together. Add milk and then mix on low speed with a mixer. Then add 1-2 tablespoons of Green Tea Matcha Powder. mix the ingredients together on low speed with a mixer.

    See how easy that recipe was?

     

     

11 thoughts on “Green Tea Cupcakes with Green Tea Buttercream Icing

  1. Tina @ bitemeshowme says:

    Ahhh love it. I haven’t tried green tea cupcakes only because I’m worried they will turn out slightly bitter. But thanks for sharing, perhaps I’ll just have to give this a try! and love the rosette 😉

  2. Jo says:

    Hi thanks for your recipe, it is easy to make 🙂

    I used this recipe to make one whole cake rather than cup cakes. Hence I baked it for 1 hour (still 150degs) for it to be cooked. I also used milk instead of buttermilk. The cake texture came out inconsistent with lotsa mini uncooked bits.

    Not sure what is causing this? 😦

Leave a Reply

