Cinnamon and Coconut Biscuits

I have this bad habit of finding something that I love to bake, baking it too many times and then getting sick of baking that item. This happened to me this week, when I found myself baking fudgy chocolate brownies like a obsessed lunatic. I decided to look for something new to bake, and I found a new recipe called Cinnamon and Coconut Biscuits in Recipes + magazine.

The recipe for the Cinnamon and Coconut Biscuits actually involved adding  a drop of raspberry jam into the centre of the biscuit, but because I do not like jam, I decided not to add it to the biscuit. The recipe also stated that I had to use a mixer to beat the butter and sugar, I decided to defy the odds and not do this and mixed it by hand instead.

The Cinnamon and Coconut Biscuits were really easy to make, and it did not take me very long to make them. The Cinnamon and Coconut Biscuits only took 15 minutes to bake and they smelt so amazing when they were ready. My house had a lovely aroma of cinnamon and coconut.

IMG_3457

The Cinnamon and Coconut Biscuits taste really nice. The combination of cinnamon and coconut worked really well. The Cinnamon and Coconut Biscuits were also quite crunchy .

I think I have found a new recipe to obsess over. 😉

Cinnamon and Coconut Biscuits recipe   (sourced from Recipes + October Edition)

Ingredients

150 grams of butter at room temperature

1/2 cup of caster sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

1 and 1/4 cup of self raising flour

1 cup of desiccated coconut ( plus 1 extra cup)

Method

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius or 160 degress celcius fan forced. Line two baking trays with baking paper. Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar in a large bowl until pale and creamy. Add egg, cinnamon and essence; beat until combined. Roll tablespoon measures of mixture into balls. (I used a teaspoon because I wanted them smaller).

Place extra coconut on a large flat plate. Roll balls in coconut. Place on prepared trays, about 3cm apart for spreading. Flatten slightly.

Bake for 15 minutes or until golden, swapping trays halfway through cooking.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon and Coconut Biscuits

Leave a Reply

