Vanilla Melting Moments

I have been participating in Helarious’ Baketober Baking Challenge, I thought this would be a great opportunity for me to learn to bake new things. So far this week, all I have baked is a Cheesecake and today I have baked Vanilla Melting Moments.

I ended up finding the recipe for Vanilla Melting Moments on the packet of my Wheatfields Plain Flour. The recipe caught my eye because firstly I love Melting Moments and secondly the recipe did not seem to require the use of a mixer. The only thing that I was confused about with the recipe, was what is a fluted tube. I still have no idea what a fluted tube is, but I assume it is just like a piping tip.

The Vanilla Melting Moments did not take very long to bake, the recipe was very straight forward. I decided to make vanilla cream filling rather than the passionfruit filling that they had suggested. I was so nervous that it may not work out, that I spent ten or so long minutes anxiously waiting by the oven.

Finally the Vanilla Melting Moments were baked and they looked gorgeous! I ended up cheating by eating one, they tasted so delicious and they just melted in my mouth. Absolute heaven!

photo (19)

I left the biscuits to cool down and started to make the filling. I ended up using a different recipe for the filling that I found online. I piped the filling onto the biscuits and they looked so pretty.

photo (18)

Of course I immediately tried one, the Vanilla Melting Moments tasted so delicious.

Next time I may make a different filing or try to use actual vanilla beans to give it a more real vanilla taste.

Vanilla Melting Moments Recipe

(sourced from Wheatfields Plain Flour package)

250 grams of butter at room temperature

1/2 cup of icing sugar

1 and 1/2 cups of plain flour

1/2 cup of cornflour

1/4 cup of mixed peel (I did not add this)

Icing

100 grams of butter at room temperature

1 cup of icing sugar

1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

Method

Preheat over to 180 degrees Celsius

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add sifted flours and mix well. Place mixture into a piping bag fitted with a Wilton 1M piping tip. Pipe rosettes onto a baking tray lined with baking paper. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until pale golden brown. Cool on wire rack.

For the icing, mix all the ingredients together. Place mixture into a piping bag fitted with a piping tip and pipe the filling on the biscuit. Place another biscuit on top and press gently.

Information about Baketober can be located on Helarious’ website:

http://helario.us/baketober

Leave a Reply

