Pavlova Ice Cream by Frugii

This weekend my family and I went for a quick trip to Canberra to visit my Brother in law and his partner for my Brother in law’s birthday. I was so excited to revisit Canberra and to finally try all the dessert places that I have been dying to try for a long time. One of the places on my list to visit was Frugii Ice Cream at the Old Bus Depot Markets.

I have been absolutely impressed with John Marshall, owner and maker of Frugii Ice Cream for a long time. I have been following him on Twitter and have read so much about the amazing different types of ice cream flavours that he had created. What I loved the most about Frugii Ice Cream, is that his ice cream is made the proper way, without the use of artificial colours, pastes or bases. I really suggest you read further about his story on his website, it is very inspiring.

When we arrived at the Old Bus Depot Markets, I decided to visit the Frugii Ice Cream stall straight away. When I arrived at the stall, I was greeted by John’s lovely wife Edna. Edna encouraged me to try the ice cream first and suggested I try them all, but I decided not to try them all and try two flavours. I ended up trying the Salted Butter Caramel and the Pavlova Ice Cream. From the first bite, I was so impressed, the ice cream tasted amazing.

photo 2 (6)

photo 1 (6)

In the end, I decided to buy a small tub of the Pavlova Ice Cream, because I did not want to eat too many sweet things before lunch time. The Pavlova Ice Cream was undoubtedly one of the most amazing ice cream flavours that I have tried, the combination of passionfruit ice cream and meringue pieces was a match made in heaven!  In fact, the Pavlova ice cream was so good, that I went back to buy another tub. I really wished that I could have bought some to take home, but unfortunately it would have melted.

photo 2 (5)

photo 1 (5)

One exciting piece of news that I got told is that Frugii intends to open a dessert bar soon. I really hope that some day I can revisit Canberra again so that I can eat at their dessert bar.

Information about Frugii, can be found on their website:

http://www.frugii.com/

Leave a Reply

