Homemade Churros

Every time I look on Instagram, someone has been eating doughnuts from Glazed Doughnuts, so of course I have been craving doughnuts ever since. Unfortunately for me, I do not have time to go to the city to go buy Glazed Doughnuts, so I thought I would try to make them myself. I will confess, I try to make them and failed miserably. (bows head in shame).

Due to my positive attitude of not wanting to waste my doughnut mixture, I had to think of another way to use the mixture. In the end I decided to make Churros. Making Churros from a doughnut recipe rather than an actual Churros was dangerous, but I was certainly up for the challenge.

I filled up a piping bag with a star tip attachment and piped the mixture into the oil I used scissors to cut the mixture from the piping tip. I worked really fast to remove them, because they were cooking fast. The result was lots of delicious Churros.

Here is some Churros that I plated up

photo (25)

I also added a side of melted couventure chocolate in a ramekin, sadly it was the last of my Cacao Barry Chocolate. (I cried).

Next time I may have to make sure the oil is not too hot, so the Churros do not burn. I am so glad that I did not waste this mixture.

Homemade Churros Recipe

(adapted from the Glazed Doughnut Recipe from http://www.justataste.com)

5 cups vegetable oil, for deep frying
1 cup of  milk
1 egg
2 cups of plain flour
2 tablespoons of caster sugar
4 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 or 57 grams of melted unsalted butter

Method

Add the vegetable oil to a large, heavy-bottomed pot. Attach the deep-fry thermometer to the pot and begin heating the oil over medium heat to 176ºC (approximately).

In a small bowl, whisk together the milk and the egg.

In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Stir the milk-egg mixture into the dry ingredients, then stir in the melted butter, mixing until a soft dough forms.

Place the mixture into a piping bag that has a star tip attached.

photo (26)

Carefully pipe the mixture into the hot oil and use scissors to cut the mixture from the piping tip. Be careful that you do not get splashed with the hot oil.

Cook for a few minutes or when the Churros are golden brown and remove with a slotted spoon. Transfer the Churros onto the paper towel.

Sprinkle cinnamon sugar on the Churros when they are warm.

For the chocolate, melt the chocolate in the microwave at 50% power for 40 second burst until it is melted. Place chocolate mixture into a ramekin.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

