Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding (Khao Niaow Ma Muang)

Boiled rice and I are not friends. I have so much trouble boiling rice, that I opt for buying the microwave version instead. So as you can imagine, when it comes to making rice desserts, I get scared and run for the hills. This time I thought I would be fearless and try to make Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding from scratch.

Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding is one of my favourite Thai desserts to eat. At one stage I was buying Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding a few times a week. I had a craving for Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding, so I decided that I would try making it myself, Once again I went searching on Google for the easiest recipe.

Making the rice part of the Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding was actually not that scary, The instructions of the recipe was pretty straight forward. What I liked about this recipe, was that the rice only had to be soaked for four hours as opposed to overnight like other recipes. I was really quite impressed with my efforts.

The Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding tasted just like the authentic ones that I used to love eating. The Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding tasted divine, the rice was sticky, sweet and slightly salty and the addition of the coconut milk sauce, and topping it off  with ripe in season mango made it perfect. The only problem was that the Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding was a serving for several people and I was only making it for myself.

IMG_5763

My next challenge will be to conquer my fear of making Coconut Tapioca Pudding, last time I tried to make it, it was a disaster! (watch this space)

Thai Mango Sticky Rice Pudding recipe can be found on this website:

http://thaifood.about.com/od/thaidesserts/r/mangoricepuddin.htm

Leave a Reply

