Christmas Inspired Cakes

For Christmas this year, I wanted to experiment with piping Christmas inspired decorations. I ended up using the usual safe cupcake recipe and a lot of green and red food colouring, these cupcakes were definitely not suitable for children’s consumption. ha ha..

The first cupcake I made, I used the Wilton Christmas Reindeer set I bought from the shops, I had a lot of fun with this set. I used two tone icing, the two tone icing gave a lovely contrast to the cupcake.

IMG_6801

For the second cupcake I used just green coloured icing and sprinkled with red sprinkles.

FullSizeRender (11)

A few weeks later I had a light bulb idea and I decided to make a full sized cake and pipe deep green and red coloured patterns on the cake. I also decided to pipe a Christmas tree in the middle. This cake scared me, because I had not baked a full cake in a long time, luckily it turned out really well and I received high praise for my creation.

FullSizeRender (10)

The last Christmas cupcake I made was made using the same deep green and red coloured patterns.

FullSizeRender (12)

I had so much fun making the Christmas inspired cakes, I cannot wait to see what I can make for next year.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Inspired Cakes

Leave a Reply

