Moist Banana and Vanilla Cupcakes

We have a bad habit in our house, we keep buying bananas and then not eating them and most of the time they end up in the compost bin. If I remember, I try my best to use the over ripe bananas for baking. This morning I realised we had two over ripe bananas in our fruit trolley, so I decided to make banana and vanilla cupcakes.

Ever since I found the amazing cupcake recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction, I have been using this recipe as the base recipe every time I make cupcakes. This recipe is so good and easy to follow that the cupcakes never turn out dry.

For the banana and vanilla cupcakes I used two over ripe mashed up bananas, I did not want the cupcakes to have a strong banana flavour.

The cupcakes were easy to make and were prepared in so little time and were baked in almost twenty minutes. I let the cupcakes cool on a wire rack for while and then I piped the cupcakes with yellow buttercream icing.

IMG_1560

The banana and vanilla cupcakes tasted amazing, the cupcakes were so moist and the banana flavour was perfect. I was so relieved that the recipe worked out well.

Next time I may add some chocolate into the mixture, so the cupcakes are a little bit more naughty.

Banana and vanilla cupcake recipe

base recipe adapted from Sally’s Baking Adventures

1 and 2/3 cup of sifted plain flour

1/2 teaspoon of  baking powder

1/4 teaspoon of baking soda

1 cup of caster sugar

113 grams of unsalted butter, melted

1 egg

1/4 cup of yoghurt

3/4 cup of milk

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

2 over ripe bananas

Icing

125 grams of softened butter

2 cups of icing sugar

1 tablespoon of milk

1 drop of yellow food colouring

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius. Line cupcake tin with 12 cupcake cases. 
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. In a large microwave-safe bowl, melt butter in the microwave. Whisk in sugar – mixture will be gritty. Whisk in egg whites, mashed banana, yoghurt, milk, and vanilla extract until combined. 
  3. Slowly mix dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until no lumps remain. Batter will be thick.
  4. Divide batter among 12 cupcake cases and bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean. Allow to cool.
  5. To make the icing, mix butter and icing sugar in a bowl. Add 1 tablespoon of milk and 1 drop of yellow food colouring and mix. If mixture is too wet add more icing sugar.  Pipe icing on the cupcakes cupcakes (I used Wilton 2D piping tip). 
Leave a Reply

