Easy Glazed Cronut™ Recipe

For a while now, I have been obsessing over all of Dominique Ansel’s innovative creations and I have always dreamt of re-visiting NYC so I could visit his bakery. I was feeling bored with baking the usual things, so decided that I would use Dominique as my inspiration for my new baking adventure, so I decided I would try to make his signature Cronut™.

I have of course never eaten a Cronut™, but I have eaten a Brewnut from Brewtown Newtown which is technically the same thing as a Cronut™. I used the Brewnut as my comparison for this recipe.

Okay, so you all know me well and of course I would never spend hours making Dominique’s signature Cronut™ , as if I have time being a mum of a 10 month old baby, so I of course Googled and found the easiest recipe that I could find.

When I was Googling recipes, so many of the recipes suggested using Pillsbury Crescent Rolls Dough and of course living in Australia it meant it was not sold here, I then found a recipe that stated that using puff pastry and I was happy.

Making the Cronut™ was a lot easier than I had imagined. The Cronut™ did not take time to make, I was all finished in about 45 minutes. The only problem that I had was that I did not have a doughnut cutter, I ended up using my egg rings and the bottom of one of my Wilton piping tips.

When I was making the Cronut™ , it was hard to imagine that such a flat piece of pastry could turn into a flaky delicious Cronut™ , thankfully it worked out well.

IMG_2818 (1)

When the Cronut™ was ready, I let them cool down and I made the glaze. I ended up adding 1 or more extra tablespoons of milk so that the glaze had the right consistency. Once the Cronut™ were cooled down, I dipped them in the glaze and let them set on my wire rack. As soon as they were ready I ate one.. or maybe two..

FullSizeRender (18)

I was so impressed with this version of the Cronut™ . This version of Cronut™ tasted really good, it was flaky like a Brewnut (Cronut™) but it had a more crispier texture to it. The glaze was a perfect edition to the Cronut™ . I really thought that this version of the Cronut™ was on par with the other Brewtown Newtown’s Brewnut.

IMG_2828

So delicious, yet so naughty…

I think I might make these again and will experiment with other types of glazes or flavours.

Easy Cronut™ Recipe

adapted from http://bsugarmama.com/puff-pastry-donuts-cronuts/

2 sheets of thrawed puff pastry

1 egg

vegetable oil for frying

Glaze

1 1/2- 3 tablespoons of milk (start off with the minimum amount of required milk and then add more until you get the right consistency)

2 cups of icing sugar

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

Method

1. Using a pastry brush, brush whisked egg onto the pastry

2. Fold the pastry into thirds like .you are folding a letter and place the pastry in the fridge for 15 minutes.

3. Turn on your deep fryer and set it to 170 degrees Celsius. Make the glaze.

4. Take the first sheet of pastry out of the freezer. Do not open the puff pastry sheet. Using your egg rings or doughnut cutter, cut the large circles from left to right on the pastry. Cut a smaller hole in the centre of each circle.

5. As soon as your deep fryer indicates that it is hot, carefully place the cut pastry Cronut™ into the deep fryer. The Cronut™ will eventually rise by itself to the top of the oil.

6. Using a slotted spoon turn the Cronut™ over in the oil until they are golden brown. I did this for 2.5 minutes per each side or longer if I wanted it more crispier. Total cooking time is approximately 5 minutes.

7. Using a slotted spoon, carefully remove the Cronut™  from the oil and place it on a plate lined with paper towel. Allow to the Cronut™ to cool.

8. Once the Cronut™ has cooled down dip one side into the glaze and lay it down on a wire rack and allow the glaze to set.

9. Take the other sheet of prepared pastry out the freezer and repeat processes 4-9.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

