Golden Gaytime ice cream in a tub

Growing up in the 80’s and 90’s I used to love eating Golden Gaytime ice cream, it was so much fun to bite off the biscuit crumbed chocolate coating  and then slowly eat the creamy toffee flavoured ice cream. Golden Gaytime and Bubble O’Bill were my two favourite ice creams in those days. These days I will confess that I do not eat these two ice creams that much because I have developed more adult tastes for gelato. 

Yesterday I read a post on Facebook announcing that Streets will be releasing a tub version of the Golden Gaytime ice cream, I was naturally immediately excited and vowed to head down to the supermarket as soon as my husband brings the car home. 

The first supermarket I went to was Woolworths and they did not have any in stock, I then went to IGA and noticed that they did stock the chocolate version. I was not too keen on buying the chocolate version, but I did anyway. 

The chocolate version of the Golden Gaytime ice cream in a tub was very disappointing, the chocolate ice cream looked pale in comparison to the photo and the ice cream itself tasted quite bland. The addition of biscuit crumbs to the ice cream did nothing for it.  

 

The next day I was determined to find the original version of the Golden Gaytime ice cream in a tub, so I drove to the nearest Coles Supermarket. When I got to the supermarket fridge, there was only two tubs left, I was so over joyed that I managed to get one of the last tubs. When I got home tried some and I did not feel too excited about it. The biggest let down for me was that just like the chocolate version, the biscuit crumbs were imbedded into the ice cream. I think that it would be been better if the biscuit crumbs were on the top and middle of the ice cream kind of like a crust, with the addition of a thin layer of chocolate like the one on the stick version.

 
 
I’ll be quite honest and say that I will not be going to buy another tub of the ice cream in the near future, if I feel like eating a Golden Gaytime, I might just buy the stick version. 

I feel so disappointed! What do you lovelies think?

Golden Gaytime in a tub is currently available at Coles and IGA.  

Leave a Reply

