Iced Vovo Cupcakes

I have to confess that I love biscuits, my 1030am daily ritual consists of drinking a cup of strong tea and a few biscuits on the side which I dip into my tea. When I think back to my younger days, it appears that this habit started when I used to dip biscuits in my Dad’s cup of tea, this is something that my Dad likes to remind me of because he finds it amusing. 

One of my favourite biscuits back  in those days was Arnott’s iced vovo biscuits, they were a lovely treat and reminiscent of my childhood, so it was only natural that when I saw the recipe for iced vovo cupcakes, I got quite excited. 

I was supposed to make these cupcakes for Australia Day celebrations, but unfortunately I fell sick and so I ended up making them a few days later. When I was making these cupcakes, they actually reminded me of those marshmallow jam biscuits that I used to also like, I think they were called jam mallows. 

I actually ended up changing the recipe, I used my favourite cupcake base recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction and added desiccated coconut. I followed Not Quite Nigella’s recipe for the rest of the recipe.

My biggest concern about this recipe was making the marshmallow icing, but surprisingly this was really not too hard to make. The marshmallow icing turned out lovely. 

The finished cupcake looked lovely.

  
I did not actually eat one because I am on a diet, so I got my mum’s neighbour’s to taste test them for me. They said the cupcake was lovely and moist and the marshmallow icing was delicious and a nice change from the usual buttercream icing. I was so pleased that it tasted good.

I cannot wait to make these cupcakes again soon!

Iced Vovo Cupcake recipe: /2015/01/20/iced-vovo-cupcakes/#recipe

Leave a Reply

