Thomas the tank engine cake 

My now 2 year old son is obsessed with Thomas the tank engine, so I decided that I would make him a Thomas the tank engine cake for his birthday, was I being overly adventurous? Maybe.

I will confess that I have only worked with fondant once and I do recall it was quite a frustrating experience and I was apprehensive about working with fondant again but part of me was determined to give it another go.

I ended up asking my friend Tina for tips on what sort of Thomas the tank engine cake to make and she suggested a few simple ideas, I ended up opting for the simple version. The cake I made was a three tiered vanilla cake with a coconut filling.

Making the cake was probably the easiest part, I ended up learning how to crumb coat a cake by watching a You Tube clip. The fondant part was the hardest part, I actually bought the wrong shade of blue fondant and I stupidly only realised this in the evening when Spotlight was closed, so I had to go to Coles and buy white fondant and colour it myself.  Luckily colouring fondant was not as hard as I had imagined it would be.

Cutting the shapes for the fondant was saved by using my cookie cutters, but the hardest part was the making the Thomas the tank engine shape, I opted for the easiest type, luckily my son recognised that the shape was Thomas the tank engine. lol..

Hours later the cake was finished and I worked on making the green cake board and I realised that I had not enough green fondant to cover the cake board, so I ended up colouring more white fondant green.

IMG_7052

Considering this my official first time using fondant to cover a cake, I was actually quite pleased with how the cake turned out.

On the day of the party, I was so nervous that the cake might not taste good, but thankfully it did and everyone thought the cake tasted nice.

I might try to practice making another cake using fondant, I am feeling totally inspired.

What I used….

For the cake base I used Sally’s baking addiction very vanilla cupcakes recipe (my go to base for every recipe)

I used fondant from Spotlight and Coles.

Colouring was Americolor from Spotlight

Making fondant was saved by..

My marble cutting board

Cornflour

My husband helping haha

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

