Uncle Tetsu’s Cheesecake

Cheesecake is definitely one of my favourite cakes to eat, so when I heard that Uncle Tetsu’s Shop selling their famous Japanese cheesecake was opening up in Sydney CBD, I was so happy.

I will confess that I must have walked past the shop several times waiting for it to open and when it finally opened this week, I was so excited.

I managed to find time to line up for the cheesecake today, I waited 30 minutes in line, which was actually a lot less than I had imagined, considering I have heard that some people have lined up for one hour. Thank goodness I had Pokemon Go! to entertain me lol.

That long queue


Whilst waiting in line I found that it was really fascinating watching the workers work through the windows.

Check out that butter for the Japanese cupcakes!

Making those cupcakes


When I finally made it to the front of line I was so excited, I decided to just buy one cheesecake, despite being tempted by the cupcakes. 

The menu

The bags

The cheesecake production line

The cheesecake took a short time for it to be prepared, in the mean time I was just inhaling the mouthwatering smell of freshly baked cheesecake.

My cheesecake was ready and packed to go! 

All packed.. yay

The cheesecake is still warm


As soon as I got to the office all my work colleagues gathered around to check out what the cheesecake looked like, unfortunately when I opened the cake box, the cheesecake was cracked.

My cheesecake is cracked


I gently cut slices of cheesecake for everyone to try.

Uncle Tetsu’s cheesecake is unlike your usual dense cheesecake, the cheesecake is really light and fluffy, it almost has the same texture as a soufflé. The cheesecake was so soft and not too cheesy. The cheesecake had quite a prominent eggy taste. I have to say that I am unfortunately not in love with this cheesecake, it is some what tasty but I prefer cheesecakes that are more dense. I guess everyone has different preferences for what sort of cheesecake texture that they prefer. My work colleagues felt the same way.

Light and fluffy


I cannot say that I would like to eat this cheesecake again, but I would like to try their other baked goods soon.

FYI..  Uncle Tetsu’s Shop only accepts cash, you can only purchase one cheesecake per a person and expect to queue up for 30 minutes or more.

Uncle Tetsu’s Shop is located at: 

501 George Street. 

Website:

Uncle Tetsu’s Shop

2 thoughts on “Uncle Tetsu’s Cheesecake

  1. peachcordial says:

    Hmm interesting. It seem like I imagine. In my head I thought it’d be more like a Pablo’s cheese tart. I’ll check it out perhaps when the hype dies down. Thanks for the great review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

