Macaron making class with Mak Mak

Macarons are one sweet thing I am fearful of baking, they seemed too difficult to make, when I saw a Scoopon deal for a macaron making class with Carlos Heng from Mak Mak, I bought one and made a booking to join a session.

Mak Mak macarons are one of the best macarons in Sydney and you can understand why, with the owner of Mak Mak, Carlos Heng (aka Mak Daddy) being so passionate about making the best macarons and constantly experimenting with new flavours.

I had arrived at the macaron making class a tad too early, so I had a quick peep inside, Carlos and his team were busily setting up.

The macaron making class commenced at 10am and everyone had arrived eager to learn, I myself were terrified, because making macarons scared me. 

Carlos started by telling the class a little bit about himself, it was quite fascinating to hear about how he started out. After this introduction, Carlos talked about macaron basics and then got us to try their macarons so we could test and taste the textures.


The next part of the macaron cooking class involved Carlos teaching us about making macarons, from making the meringue, mixing the dry ingredients with the meringue and egg whites with food dye and then piping it onto the trays. 


After this demonstration, it was our turn, I ended having no partner to work with because everyone was paired up, this worked fine for me. 

The first parts of mixing the blue coloured dyed egg whites into the dry ingredients and mixing the meringue mixture thereafter didn’t seem that hard but it was labor intensive hehe, it was the piping of the macarons that I got stuck on, I piped some of mine too small.


After I had piped two trays of macaron shells, Carlos put them into the oven.

After 12 minutes..

Dah dah!! The baked product.. look at the feet of my shells. 


Whilst we waited for our macaron shells to cool down, Carlos taught us how to make chocolate ganache and how to pipe the ganache and peanut butter onto the macaron shells.

Now that the macaron shells were cooled down, it was time to match up the macaron shells.


The last step was piping the filling onto the macaron shells and to put the macaron together, I didn’t put much peanut butter onto my macaron shell because I do not like peanut butter much.


The finished product! They tasted yummy. 


I really enjoyed the macaron making class, I came out of the class feeling a whole lot more confident of making macarons. 

Keep your eyes peeled, I might attempt to make them myself soon.

Click on the link for further information:

Mak Mak macaron classes

*i had trouble capturing the blue colour of the macarons with my iPhone

Leave a Reply

