Hot chocolate powder

I am not a coffee drinker, so I get my morning wake me up fix from a hot chocolate. I love making my own hot chocolate because I find that some cafes tend to over heat the milk or do not make the hot chocolate chocolatey enough, I used to buy hot chocolate powder from the supermarket or cafes.

A few months ago I decided to start experimenting with making my hot chocolate powder because I couldn’t find one that was not too sugary or affordable. My pantry is actually full of several different store bought hot chocolate powders that I did not like. I started by experimenting with the ratios of cocoa powder to sugar and I finally found the ratio that was perfect for me. I really liked my hot chocolate powder and it made a really nice hot chocolate.

Hot chocolate powder

1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa

1/4 cup of caster sugar

Method

Sift the cocoa and sugar together and place it in a air tight container.

How easy is that? I cannot believe I didn’t try this years ago!

For my cocoa powder I used this big container of unsweetened Hershey’s cocoa powder that I bought from Costco, I really liked the taste. You could of course buy more fancier cocoa powder but I liked the one that I used.

I cannot believe I used to pay up to $20 for got chocolate powder!

Let me know what you think.

x

*sorry I haven’t blogged much, it’s been a tough year with family issues.

Leave a comment